Teaching It!!

Years ago, I had an epiphany.  I want to be a teacher, I thought.  Crazy.  It was nothing I had ever dreamed of in my forty-some years, but in that quiet moment when the wind in your head dies down, and all you can hear is the crystal clear voice of your soul, I heard it.  “Be a teacher.”
I was so excited!  You know the old line that everyone says, “I’m all grown up and I STILL don’t know what I want to be….”  Well, that was me.  I’d sort of let life’s circumstances and my poor choices shove me around, grabbing branches to steel myself on the rocky, crooked paths I chose.  It wasn’t until I was thirty-six, and my parents decided to close the family business that I worked for, did I realize I could CHOOSE what I wanted to do!
So I thought, and I thought, and I thought.
My older sisters, who were also losing their jobs, decided to go to school for business degrees. There was an evening class they could take that was accelerated (and expensive.)  They asked if I wanted to join them, but I declined.  Ugh, I thought, business!  Boring!
As was my normal way of life, I grabbed the next branch and held on a little longer.  But this time, I kept pondering – What DO I want to do?
I still remember a dream I had during the late 90’s, as life was taking its drastic turn.  I dreamed that I asked God, “What am I supposed to do, God?”  And He handed me a book, opened up the pages and pointed at the words.  In the dream, I strained and strained to see what it said on the pages, but I couldn’t make it out. Of course, that’s when I woke – frustrated and angry that the answer was right there before me, but I just couldn’t see it.
Through one of the sessions with my life coach/guru, I revealed the epiphany I had had of being a teacher.  He confirmed that I was right!  But as with most affirmations from my guru, it is much deeper than I originally think.  Life reveals the depth as I go along, and nothing is as simple – cut and dried – as I think it is.   I realized that my life was supposed to be about teaching.  I thought about going back to school, but in my heart, I knew that I was not mentally, emotionally or financially prepared for that.  And that’s when it occurred to me that I could teach every day of my life.  Not in a traditional way, but just by reaching deeper than the surface and sharing my experiences and epiphanies with others.
I continued on, and I have taught and been taught.  But this spring, my niece asked if I would help her make a quilt this summer.  Of course, I said of course!  Here’s a link to the quilt that inspired her.  It’s a Half Square Triangle quilt that she saw on Pinterest, linking to One Shabby Chick.  It’s a 2012 post, but it’s a timeless scrappy quilt with a bohemian flair that fits Allie (and myself) to a tee.
Many times, we make a plan to do something “sometime,” but sometime never comes.  To make sure it happened, we set a day and time each week.  The plan was set in action.  I found myself preparing for the “class.”
Last night was our first class.  With a break midstream for a spinach-strawberry smoothie, when the three hours was finished, Allie had chosen the fabric she wanted to use from my stash and my mom’s stash, then with my direction (and new blades for the rotary cutters) she and I cut the forty-two blocks she would need. We’re making half square triangle blocks, so I instructed her on how to draw a diagonal line on the wrong side of each of the lighter blocks, and told her that was her assignment for next week.  Draw the lines and match them to the dark fabric that she wants them to be joined with.
I have to say, we were both pretty stoked by the end of the class.  Allie and I are a bit like kindred spirits, and our conversations go from spirituality to smoothies to coffee to good books!
I love quilts and quilting, and I love sharing that passion (especially with my niece that feels more like my grandchild.)  As Allie walked down the sidewalk, turning to give me one more sparkling, bright-eyed smile, I realized – I’M TEACHING!  I’M A TEACHER!  And I loved it!
Allie opened the book and read it to me – the answer in the dream is revealed.
Author: WriteAndQuilt

Hi, my name is Christine aka Chrissie, "E", Mom, Gramma and Lover (yes, that's what my husband calls me.) I fell in love with fabric and quilting when I was about 7. It's been my go-to for my sanity ever since. I love to write, too. So I sort of flop back and forth between the two crafts, and sometimes, I mix them together. Come share my journey, and I'd love to hear about yours!

Leave a Reply

