Beating the Blue Funk with HOPE

With November here and Thanksgiving tomorrow, I thought it apt to get to my gratitude journal and list a few things.  Today I found myself in a weird blue funk.  I wondered if it was a virus, as I haven’t been feeling too great, and my sister posted on Facebook, a week ago, that she was in a blue funk.  Anyway, I don’t want to be in a blue funk.  I want to be excited and happy and high with anticipation.

This is my attempt at getting myself there.  Write it out (instead of talk it out.)

I’ve finished a few projects that I had been working on for a while.  My projects keep me going.  I think about them and look forward to working on them every night.  Like any goal, once reached, there is a let down.  While I was pondering this at lunch, I decided I just need to get moving on the next project.  I was going to work on some more Christmas gifts, but decided that isn’t where my heart is.  Instead, I think I will start a new quilt.  I’ve been wanting to make a quilt with nothing but equilateral triangles (is that what they are called when all the sides are the same length?).  Anyway, I’ve never made one of those, so thought it would be fun to do a small one and straight line quilt it myself. 

So first thing on the list of things to be grateful for: 

1.  Creative capability! 

Another realization that I had at lunch is that my hormones are apparently working over time.  It’s just part of being fify-ish, I am sure, and I need to stop worrying about it and let my body do its aging thing. Taking the good, high-flying moods with the nose diving falls.  Live in the moment and know that nothing lasts forever. 

2. Awareness that brings hope!   

With the holidays upon us, I have wanted to decorate differently for Christmas.  I’m really sick of the things I have used in the past and the same tree that I have had for years.  I’ve decided to change things up a bit, but I don’t want to spend money on it.  I’m going to have to dig deep, but that brings me to number 3. 

3.  Pinterest!  What a great invention and resource.  I admit that it gives me the crazies sometimes – like a child who has had a Mountain Dew and a chocolate bar – but it’s a lot of fun to get high on creative prospective projects. 

I just realized that all of these lead to one thing – Hope!  And that is just what I needed, some hope.  I guess that’s what we all want when we are feeling low, we just don’t realize it, because we are feeling too hopeless. 

I’m grateful to have found my path again.  Hopeful for the creativity I will indulge in this season.  And happy to have the time to do it!! 

P.S.  Because we all love pictures, I’m going to include a photo of the quilt I made as a surprise for my daughter.  She lives in Arizona, so I made a quilt using Sounds of the Woods by Robert Kauffman in the Diamond String pattern, hoping to depict an Indiana winter woods walk. 

 

1 thought on “Beating the Blue Funk with HOPE”

Leave a Reply

