Think About It

My mind was just floating through the task of filing reports.  Just doing what I had done a million times before.  But then there was a glitch.  I was filing in numeric order, and I had just filed a paper numbered 3683 in the place where 3583 should be.  I went on, not realizing my error, but my mind began to float through that report, and I pondered on the timeline of the numbers.

“Yikes!” was my response.  I realized that report did not come into being till recently, so there’s no way it could have been that old of a number.

I quickly went back and retrieved it, and I put it in its proper place.  This sequence of events, though, got me thinking about thinking.

First, I thought, “Gosh, I’m lucky I was thinking about that instead of doing such a menial task and throwing the papers in there without thought.  I could have been daydreaming!”

This thought was then followed with, “I’m glad I am a person who thinks about what she is doing.”  Gratitude.  Realizing not everyone thinks.

I thought about when the kids were young and as frustrated parents, we might say, “Think about what you are doing.”  And I realized (now that it’s too late) that you can’t tell someone to think about it.  If they don’t already do that, they are not going to know what you are talking about.  And it’s not something you could explain or teach.  I think some people are born thinkers, and others become thinkers through life experience and the letting go of social pressures and other preoccupations.

I really don’t know where I am going with this.  I guess it is just my epiphany of the day.  And I decided to share.  Maybe some young parent will read it and have more patience when their child appears thoughtless.  Time is on their side.

Author: WriteAndQuilt

Hi, my name is Christine aka Chrissie, "E", Mom, Gramma and Lover (yes, that's what my husband calls me.) I fell in love with fabric and quilting when I was about 7. It's been my go-to for my sanity ever since. I love to write, too. So I sort of flop back and forth between the two crafts, and sometimes, I mix them together. Come share my journey, and I'd love to hear about yours!

Leave a Reply

