“Arizona, hey won’tcha come my way!” – Kenny Young

Well, it’s hard to believe that I’ve been back from my trip to visit my daughter for almost a month. You can probably feel the emotion there. Yep. I miss her like crazy. But lucky for her, I have a life back here in Indiana and can’t follow her around the world!

I thought I’d share a few pictures from the trip. My mom was my traveling companion. We had a wonderful time!


I brought along my number 8 perle cotton and a quilt block to quilt   Along with a canvas bag that I am big stitching.  It ended up a good thing since our flight was delayed several times!  The time went faster, since I had my handwork to do, and it was a comfort to me.

The block in the photo was made using Tokyo Train Ride fabric line by Sarah Watts and Maureen Cracknell’s A New Leaf Quilt Block Tutorial.  http://maureencracknellhandmade.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-new-leaf-quilt-block-tutorial.html

If you give this a whirl, I’d like to know how it went for you.  I had a little trouble….

  This is not a very good picture, but hey, Gotta love Papago Park
This is my beautiful daughter, Abigail, at the entrance of the Botanical Gardens.  She’s a nature girl, so this is one of her favorite places!

 We went to dinner at Abigail and Adams favorite restaurant that serves pasties. There was a misting machine spraying a fine mist to cool us off in the outdoor seating area.

Mom loved Adams pinball machine!! (and she cannot lie…)  It was so fun watching her play.  She totally regressed about 70 years!

This was taken at the Botanical Gardens.  Just had to post it.  Hard to believe that I used to rock this baby, now a woman, in my arms.  We went from mother and daughter to wonderful friends, mentors, guides and support system, each taking whichever role the other needs that person to be.  She may live far away, but she is always in my heart!!!
And finally, Adam’s quilt that I made for him using the pattern in the book, Vintage Quilt Revival by Katie Clark Blakesly.  The book is amazing!   Here’s a link to buy the book:  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1620330547/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1620330547&linkCode=as2&tag=frelemqui-20with

Adam is a big Deadpool fan, so I made a Deadpool applique’ and included it on the one block.  He also loves big stitching, so this was my first try at that technique.  I loved it, so that is what I used on The Story of My Life quilt that I posted a while back.   The quilt is just a large throw size, so in order to use it on their queen-size bed, Abigail decided that shams would fill the space.

I made the one for Abigail’s side of the bed using “her” colors. She wasn’t quite sure about that surprise.  I think she wanted them to both be the same.  My point was that she may be married to Adam but she still has her own identity. 😉

So I’m back in Indiana.  We celebrated my mother’s 80th birthday this past weekend, and I have been busy trying to get a jump on Christmas gift making, and loving the time to do it!

Hope you are all enjoying your quilting/cooking/running/biking/reading/photographing or whatever you love to do time!  Happy Thursday!

Author: WriteAndQuilt

Hi, my name is Christine aka Chrissie, "E", Mom, Gramma and Lover (yes, that's what my husband calls me.) I fell in love with fabric and quilting when I was about 7. It's been my go-to for my sanity ever since. I love to write, too. So I sort of flop back and forth between the two crafts, and sometimes, I mix them together. Come share my journey, and I'd love to hear about yours!

Leave a Reply

