WIP

Recently, I re-watched an old favorite movie of mine, Julie and Julia.  I think I have mentioned this movie before.  If you haven’t seen it, you definitely should watch it.  It’s funny and sad and inspiring and entertaining.  Most of all, though, I feel it speaks to the heart of most creative people.  As I was walking on my treadmill, watching it (for the 10+ time), I was inspired to get back to my blog!  So here I am.

Subject of the day?  WIPs.  In case you don’t know what that is, it is a Work In Progress.  It is a term used quite often in the quilter’s world.  And a lot of the quilt blogs have WIP Wednesday.

Well, it isn’t Wednesday, so I can’t call this my work in progress Wednesday post, but after reading a few of them on my Bloglovin’ feed, I thought I would share my thoughts about WIPs.

Back in July, I read Crazy Mom Quilts blog post about too many WIPs.  http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2015/07/counting-up-my-wips.html

I was rather in shock when I saw how many she had!  I shivered at the thought of having all those projects raising their hand when I walked in the door.  Me! Me!  Pick ME!

I never seem to have more than a couple projects going at one time.  Granted, there are quite a few floating around in my head – or should I say, banging at the door, impatiently waiting to be let out!  And up to now, I had kept a good hold on the doorknob, carefully cracking it just enough to let one project squeak out the door at a time.  Whew!

Until the last couple weeks.  The pressure behind that door was just getting to be too much for me to hold.  So I did it. I let more than two out at a time.

While rushing through WalMart the other day – the most dreaded chore in my life – I saw a really cool dry erase board.  I thought it would be great for organizing all those wanna be WIPs in my mind.  I could tell them  – Okay, you can come out, as long as you stay on the dry erase board till I finish the one before you!  Wait your turn!

I made the list, knowing there was one important one that I wanted to put on the list, lest I forget it, but it seems the dreaded has already happened.  It stayed behind the door so long it gave up ever coming into material existence and left.  Well, I hope if it wants to be part of my life, it will come back.  Until then, I have plenty more.

Today I had a few minutes to spare before heading to my day job.  I went to my sewing studio and flipped on the sewing machine and the iron.  I sewed a few strips on the QAYG hot pad that I plan to take to my daughter in Arizona in October.  I turned around and saw the panel that I am making into a winter wall hanging for my son and his family, and I grabbed the two pieces of batting that I plan to whipstitch into a piece big enough to use for the wall hanging.  I set the batting, thread, needle and scissors on the dining table, so I would remember that is what I want to do when a few spare minutes drop into my pocket.  In my mind, though, I was thinking of the small quilt, entitled The Story of My Life (my daughter named it) in my quilting bag that I keep by the couch.  I recently finished hand big stitching my Story of My Life quilt, and realized I need to get the binding on it, so I can take it off the WIP list.  Annnnddd there are two pillow sham tops that I am big stitching (to take to my daughter to match the quilt I made for her husband) on the back of the couch that need to go into the quilting bag in The Story of My Life’s place.

Okay, so at this point, I start to feel a bit panicky. How will I ever get everything finished in a timely manner?  I could knock these things out if I didn’t work in an office all day.  My job requires a lot of sitting, so when I get home, I try to get in thirty minutes of walking, and of course, there’s the usual fixing dinner, clean up and laundry and prep for the next day’s work.  Ugh!

I counted five WIPs.  Wow.  That’s a lot for my fragile sanity.  And did I mention I have four jelly rolls and two fat quarter bundles that I ordered from www.craftsy.com that are calling my name?

Well, I guess this is just the life of the crazy, creative people.  Oh, and did I mention that I am in the midst of reading, The Little Spark: Thirty Ways to Ignite Your Creativity, by Carrie Bloomston?  You can get it here:  http://www.amazon.com/Little-Spark30-Ways-Ignite-Creativity/dp/1607059606/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1441291454&sr=8-1&keywords=the+creative+spark+carrie+bloomston&pebp=1441291472949&perid=0DMKAM0Q0EACRCKW04X8.

Carrie’s writing is really inspiring and thought provoking.  I saw that she lives in Phoenix, and I had this little fantasy that she and my daughter could become the best of creative friends.

Anyway, my spark must be burning bright now, and the pressure on the WIP wanna-be door is building.  So to AmandaJean at Crazy Mom Quilts, my heart goes out to you, as I join you in WIP abundance.

I love the creative life!!

Leave a Reply

