Julie & Julia

Without my friend’s suggestion, I know I would not have ended up where I did.  Ilene is a wise and intuitive person with a heart of gold, so when she e-mailed me about a movie she’d seen, I took her suggestion to heart.  She told me she’d seen the movie, Julie & Julia, and thought of me.  And she’d found it very inspiring. 

Well, I am not one to go to the theater.  I have a lot of patience and some real frugalness motivating that patience.  I can wait to rent a movie and just spend $3 instead of $15 for my husband and myself to see it. 

I don’t like the loudness of theaters, the crowds, people smacking their lips and licking their buttery fingers, the seats that I am sure Oprah’s investigation found to be one of the most bacteria harboring surfaces on earth, and just the fact that you can’t hit the pause button when you need to pee or just to take a break.  These are all the reasons I avoid those places.  But my daughter was coming to town for the day, and I’d taken a much needed vacation day to go do “girl” things with her.  We hit the local library, one of our most favorite places, where I checked out a book my daughter had recommended, then headed off to my sister’s for haircuts.  We both took a step back in time with the styles we chose, past favorites – mine above my ears, hers with straight severe bangs that were inspired by the movie, The Devil Wears Prada. 

With an hour left till show time, we headed to the next town that housed a newer (than our small town’s) theater.  We stopped at Starbucks for a rare treat, then decided that Taco Bell would be the next treat.  We sipped and munched in the Taco Bell parking lot, then after gathering the wrappings, decided that was the type of food that should not be eaten in a car.  Bits of cheese lay across her lap and mine, and like a monkey, Abigail picked the pieces off me and ate them, which we had to laugh about. 

Once at the theater, I was thrilled to find that we only had to pay the matinee price, and as a bonus, it was Free Popcorn Tuesday!  Neither of us were that hungry by then, but we took the popcorn.  I ate part of mine and saved the rest for my husband, who loves popcorn. 

The movie was about a young married woman who works for the government in a job that is emotionally sapping.  (I work for the government, too!)  Her saving grace is going home and cooking up a gourmet meal or dessert.   She idolized Julia Child, so after some suggestion from her husband, who is one of the most supportive guys I’ve ever seen, she starts a 365 day blog of making each of the 524 recipes in Julia Child’s cookbook. 

Well, I won’t tell you any more, because I don’t want to ruin it for you, but, vaguely, the end result is that the whole experience changes her life and who she is. 

Abigail and I both cried and sniffed and we laughed and giggled throughout the movie.  Afterward, when the credits rolled and everyone (mainly white haired ladies) rose to exit, we just sat in our seats and looked at each other with tears in our eyes.  We had a quick discussion, went to the crowded restroom and then walked out into the sunlight once more. 

In the car, we discussed how the movie had moved us, inspired us, and my daughter told me how for the first time in a long time, she was noticing how the light moved around us and the shadows that were formed.  She’d even been moved by the elderly woman who’d removed her teeth in the bathroom and rinsed them under the faucet.  All of which made her want to write!!   I had to laugh. She is a photographer; I am the writer.  Yet that very day, my new camera had come in the mail, and I had been photographing everything.  Now here she was with an inspiration to write!!!  I was so excited. 

Well, needless to say, I wanted to thank Ilene for thinking of me.  And not only that, for taking the time to send me a message.  One that moved me and in turn, moved my daughter. 

If you have the chance, go see it.  It is well done, entertaining, and most of all, it inspires one to do what they love, even if there seems to be no reward in sight.

Leave a Reply

