Nature’s Bounty

The hummingbirds hovered there, just a foot from the glass, as if they were watching us eat our cereal at the kitchen island.  Maybe they were discussing what we were eating; maybe they were admiring the pink flowers of my button up shirt.  Whatever their motivation for stopping just outside my kitchen window, I was happy they chose to do so.

When my husband, Mike, decided to dig up my yard and put in landscaping instead, I was a bit trepidatious.  I didn’t want a weed patch there, and I was not a big fan of mulch and the way it seems to lose its shine and appeal.  It is run of the mill stuff and as far as I am concerned, it is just a little overdone.

But when Mike insisted on proceeding with his project – including the mulch – I just hoped that whatever we decided to plant would draw butterflies or hummingbirds.

I purposely chose a red flowering plant to hang by the kitchen window, knowing that hummingbirds are attracted to red, so when the first hummingbird appeared, I felt I had succeeded.  Since then, there is one that appears daily, and I have often wondered if it is the same one.  Then today, two appeared together!

Nature is my saving grace.  I love the display that it puts on for me.  When the fox came to play in the field, I relished this glimpse into his private life.  When the groundhog appeared in front of my kitchen window, I was so ecstatic; I had to call my husband.  I was born and raised in this house.  And I was surrounded by nature all during those formidable years.  Yet I never remember really relishing nature’s reveal.

I remember almost stepping on a snake when I was about eight, but I didn’t stop to admire the shiny black of his back.  No, I ran like the wind back to the house, the garbage that I was supposed to dump still suspended in my hands.  I don’t ever remember walking through this glorious woods and consciously thinking how the leaves were so pretty or how beautiful it all was.  I do remember that my favorite thinking spot was on a huge flat rock under a shagbark hickory tree in the middle of the field.

The hummingbird’s appearance has reminded me to stop, look and appreciate the glory of nature.  It is here to support me with its beauty and grace.

I am thankful for my husband’s garden.  It is my daily focus, and I love to come home to see what has bloomed, what has appeared, or what has transformed.  It is a changing world.  Nature’s display brings me to a place of safety and comfort.  A place where I know that no matter what is going on around me, there is support there for me.

Leave a Reply

