What Will Your Focus Be?

My day started as most do – that annoying radio guy always penetrating luscious and precious sleep to tell me it is time to start yet another day pretty must like the one before.  I crawled out of bed, made my way to the kitchen and jumpstarted my blood sugar with a glass of orange juice, then flipped on the coffee maker. I’d prepared the water and coffee all the night before.  I’ve found it is easier to measure coffee at the end of the day rather than in the bleary eyed state of darkest morning.  My thoughts wandered around in my head till they came to my oldest son’s recent crisis.  His car, as of the evening before, is sitting half put together and at a stopping point with no promise of progress.  Thinking of my twenty-three year old son living almost two hours away with school and work and NO car, I felt as if the tire of my life had gone flat.  I felt his anxiety as my own, and felt my own mood sinking.  Then I remembered that I didn’t need to put anymore negative energy into the situation, and in my Pollyanna kind of way decided to think of things he has to be grateful for.  Starting with the obvious, I listed, Health.  I thought of the homeless and how he is lucky to have a home. Recently, I heard of someone’s kid who is bi-polar who was into drugs and is now pregnant.  Now THAT would be stressful for a parent.  So I added that to my son’s gratitude list.  He could be grateful that he is not a drug addict.  After that the list quickly grew, adding smart and funny, has a job, gets to attend school to prepare for a career of his choice, and has a lot of friends and a family to support him and his dreams.  Suddenly, I was feeling so much better.  And I realized that in the grand scheme of things, a broken car is really trivial.  I also realized that being grateful for the things that ARE going right sure puts things in a better perspective.  Not only had my attitude changed, but I felt hope.  I’ve read a lot about Gratitude Journals, but have not ever started one.  But I do think that from this day on, the first email I send is going to be a list of things I am grateful for to myself.  It will be a meditation of sorts.  And I think I will even start a folder in my email account just for those emails, so I can go back and re-read them when I am struggling with my perspective.  Putting gratitude out there, I actually felt the energy around me and within me change.  It changed my focus from negative to positive.  If one can change one’s perspective, then it really doesn’t matter what is going on around you.  It’s just a matter of perspective. 

Author: WriteAndQuilt

Hi, my name is Christine aka Chrissie, "E", Mom, Gramma and Lover (yes, that's what my husband calls me.) I fell in love with fabric and quilting when I was about 7. It's been my go-to for my sanity ever since. I love to write, too. So I sort of flop back and forth between the two crafts, and sometimes, I mix them together. Come share my journey, and I'd love to hear about yours!

Leave a Reply

